Indigenous issues

The main focus of this thematic area is preparing for the establishment of a cross-border PhD school in Sami and Indigenous studies. This in-depth collaboration will also enhance the opportunities to initiate research that to a larger degree looks across the state borders; as Sápmi is partitioned between four states, the research should not be limited by political borders.

 

Contacts:

Core partners

Lena Maria Nilsson, Umeå University, lena.nilsson@umu.se
Sanna Valkonen, University of Lapland, sanna.valkonen@ulapland.fi
Lena Manderstedt, Luleå University of Technology, lena.manderstedt@ltu.se
Anni-Siiri Länsman, University of Oulu, anni-siiri.lansman@oulu.fi
Torjer Andreas Olsen, UiT - The Arctic University of Norway, Torjer.Olsen@uit.no

Key partners

Laila-Susanne Vars, Sámi Allaskuvla; Guovdageaidnu, laila-susanne.vars@samiskhs.no
Astri Dankertsen, Nord Universitet, Bodø, astri.dankertsen@nord.no

 

 

Lead:


Doctor Lena Maria Nilsson

Co-director, Várdduo, Centre for Saami research

Umeå University

Umeå, Sweden

lena.nilsson@umu.se

+46 90 786 59 59